Image default
Australia Cricket India Sports Trending Now World

Australia Win ICC World Cup for the 6th Time, Crushing India’s Dreams

Ahmedabad: Australia secured its sixth ICC World Cup title by defeating India in the final of the Cricket World Cup 2023. In the final, Australia defeated the Indian team which was undefeated throughout the tournament, After losing the World Cup, Indian players were seen shedding tears.

India had set a target of 241 runs for Australia while batting first in the final played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

At the loss of four wickets in response to India’s 241 runs, Australia chased down the target in the 43rd over. The final, played at the world’s largest Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, witnessed a crowd of over a hundred thousand.

Australia’s squad included Captain Pat Cummins, David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, and Josh Hazlewood. On the other hand, India’s squad included Captain Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Suryakumar Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj.

Due to excellent bowling by the Australian bowlers, the Indian team scored only 240 runs at the loss of all 10 wickets, playing until the last ball. The Indian team did not start the final in the manner fans were hoping for. In contrast to the Australian team, the Indian team had been unbeaten throughout the tournament and entered the field with full home support of over a hundred thousand people cheering for them.

Opening batsman Rohit Sharma scored 47 runs off 31 balls before getting out by Glenn Maxwell. Virat Kohli scored a half-century, before getting bowled by the Australian captain Pat Cummins. However, Indian batsmen Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer could not score significant runs. After Virat Kohli’s dismissal, KL Rahul partnered with Ravindra Jadeja to advance their innings.

However, after Jadeja’s dismissal, KL Rahul could not stay at the crease for long, and as a result, the Indian team lost wickets at regular intervals, scoring 240 runs at the end of their innings. Mitchell Starc proved to be the most successful bowler for Australia. He took three crucial wickets for 55 runs in his 10 overs.

Josh Hazlewood and Captain Pat Cummins dismissed two batsmen each, while Glenn Maxwell took the crucial wicket of Indian Captain Rohit Sharma. A large number of Indian supporters were present in the stadium, including several famous personalities.

The Indian team was so far unbeaten in the World Cup and had defeated all nine teams in the initial stage and then defeated New Zealand in the semi-final.

Dear TNT Reader,

At The News Tribe, our mission is to bring you free, independent, and unbiased news and content that keeps you informed and empowered. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of journalism, as we understand that we are a platform for truth.

Apart from independent global news coverage, we also commit our unique focus on the Muslim world. In an age marked by the troubling rise of Islamophobia and widespread misrepresentation of Muslims in Western media, we strive to provide accurate and fair coverage.

But to continue doing so, we need your support. Even a small donation of 1$ can make a big difference. Your contribution will help us maintain the quality of our news and counteract the negative narratives that are so prevalent.

Please consider donating today to ensure we can keep delivering the news that matters. Together, we can make a positive impact on the world, and work towards a more inclusive, informed global society.

Monthly Subscription Annual Subscription

Visa Card MasterCard American Express Card

We want to hear your Travel Stories.

Do you have a memorable, unbelievable, or favorite travel experience? Share your story with us.