Image default
Cricket Pakistan Sports Top Stories

Pakistan Thrashes India in the ACC Men’s Emerging Cup Final

Pakistan A team members celebrate with the Series trophy during the Final of the ACC Men’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023 cricket match between India A and Pakistan A at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka on July 23, 2023.
Photo by: Deepak Malik / CREIMAS / Asian Cricket Council

Colombo: In the final of the ACC (Asian Cricket Council) Emerging Asia Cup, Pakistan defeated India. Pakistan scored 353 runs, while India was all out for 224 runs. Pakistan’s bowlers performed exceptionally well, with Sufyan Muqeem taking 3 wickets, and Mehran Mumtaz, Arshad Iqbal, and Mohammad Wasim taking 2 wickets each. Mubasir Khan also took one wicket.

Indian batsmen struggled against Pakistan’s bowlers, losing wickets one after the other. Abhishek Sharma scored 61, Yash Dhull made 39, and Sai Sudarshan scored 29 runs to put up a respectable total for India.

On Twitter, Pakistan’s national team captain Babar Azam extended his congratulations to the Pakistan A players for their victory against India in the final, appreciating the emerging cricket stars of Pakistan.

In the match held at Colombo Cricket Stadium, Indian captain Yash Dhull won the toss and invited Pakistan to bat first. Pakistan set a target of 352 runs for India, losing 8 wickets in their 50 overs.

Pakistan’s openers, Saim Ayub and Sahibzada Farhan, provided a brilliant start with a partnership of 121 runs. However, Saim Ayub was dismissed after scoring 59 runs, and Sahibzada Farhan followed after making 65 runs.

Other players, including Omar Bin Yousuf (35) and captain Mohammad Haris (2), fell quickly without contributing significant runs. In the middle-order, Tayyab Tahir played aggressively, scoring 108 runs off 71 balls with the help of 12 fours and 4 sixes, while Mubasir Khan supported him with 35 runs. The duo established a partnership of 125 runs.

From the Indian side, Vian Prag and Hingrikar took 2 wickets each, while Manu Satra, Harshit Rana, and Nishant Sindhu managed to get one wicket each.

Pakistan A captain Mo

Before this match, Pakistan had defeated Sri Lanka in the first semi-final by 60 runs, while India qualified for the final by defeating Bangladesh by 51 runs in a thrilling encounter.

Pakistan Squad: Captain: Mohammad Haris (capt & wk), Tayyab Tahir, Saim Ayub, Sahibzada Farhan, Omar Bin Yousuf, Qasim Akram, Mubasir Khan, Mehran Mumtaz, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Arshad Iqbal, and Sufiyan Muqeem.

In the ongoing event, the Indian team remained undefeated during the group matches, but they faced a loss at the hands of the Pakistan A team in the finals.

Pakistani side featured players with experience in international and PSL (Pakistan Super League), including All-Rounder Mohammad Wasim Jr., Captain Mohammad Haris, Opener Batsman Sahibzada Farhan, and Fast Bowler Arshad Iqbal.